I haven’t been in a good headspace for design lately, and since I haven’t been able to do any playtesting, I’ve had to seek alternate means to explore Fluidity and other projects. What I’ve come up with is a solo campaign using Fluidity Project as a base for character creation, normal d20 conflict resolution and Mythic GM Emulator to handle the campaign setup and play.

Mythic is actually a fully functional roleplaying system, but one of the beautiful things about it is that along with the roleplaying system comes a quick and easy system that allows GM-less roleplaying with a group, or even solo play. In fact, the emulator is so robust that it can be used for everything from character generation to world creation. Even if you have no use for a system that allows you to play without a GM, Mythic has enough utility that I think every game master should consider adding it to their toolbox.

Mythic and the companion Game Master Emulator (published by Word Mill Games) have been floating around for a few years, but it’s only recently that I started to see a lot of threads popping up on RPGnet and Story Games. At first glance, it’s hard to see how the system could really create as robust gaming opportunities as it does. Even reviews and actual play threads don’t convey either the simplicity or utility.

Although the core of Mythic is just rolling d100 against a series of tables, with a little bit of imagination I’ve found that even though I’m using it to game solo, it has improved my game mastering. It’s been teaching me to deal quickly and creatively with randomness at the game table, as well as helping to cut the chaff from my gaming by forcing me to frame my scenes in a tighter and more focused manner.

Along with the the print generator, I’ve been using a pair of tools that have helped to speed up the game immensely. The first is a flash version of the Mythic system. It’s nice, but I’ve found that in order to make the best use of it, you need to keep your lists very up to date. This might not be a problem for some people, but I’ve been running the game on three different computers and in a notebook, so it’s a layer of complexity that isn’t all that welcome. The second is a program created by Chance Boon called Mythic ApprenticeĀ (rapidshare link). I can’t say enough nice things about this program. If you’re a game master who doesn’t mind Mythic and who uses a laptop at the game table, there is no excuse for not integrating Mythic Apprentice into your game.

