You may have noticed that the non-player character page of the Actual Play section doesn’t include any stats while the player character section does. This is completely intentional. I don’t want the reader to have any insight into the relative power-level or skill-set of particular NPCs, I want the reader to be as surprised as the main characters are when they discover things about the NPCs. That’s not to say that I won’t be posting stats in the Behind the Screen segments, because I most certainly will. I’ll likely be posting full stats, or interesting snippets as the story goes on and as NPCs pass out of the story. Just as I intend to keep die roll information out of the actual play narrative, I want to keep the NPC list (which might get quite long) free of non-story information.

A quick note on format:
I’m writing the actual play narrative in a bit of a mishmash of styles. You’ll notice that I tend to leave a lot of detail out, but sometimes I’ll increase the granularity of the scene and break out actual dialog. There’s a few reasons for this. Chief among them is the fact that I’m both the GM and the player which means that for the most part, the details can remain unspoken because they’re in my head. But it’s also because I’m going to focus in the direction that moves the narrative along. If the event focus that comes out of the emulator and the character action point in the direction of detailed dialog, that’s what I’ll be writing.

About weapons:
In the Great City, there are very restrictive laws about armaments. For the common man in the city, there are only two things to be concerned about: no man can carry a blade longer than his hand-span (thumb tip to pinkie tip when the hand is splayed) and no man may carry a cudgel longer than the length of his forearm (elbow to the tip of his middle finger). The glaring exceptions to this are officers of the law (who carry long rattan canes (and occasionally crossbows) and nobility (who are allowed to wear swords). In practice, however, these laws are flaunted all the time. And, I’m not just talking about Sair Courqan’s penchant for wearing a small sword. Rather, most well-to-do citizens who care about personal safety have taken to carrying metal tipped canes (some of which conceal swords), and almost everyone else carries an over length swagger stick if they’re expecting trouble. In addition, enterprising members of the criminal element have realized that not only do hatchets and hand axes don’t violate either part of the law, but many common tools make effective weapons while not attracting any attention.

